Sex dating in stalybridge cheshire
It was led by Captain Raines who made his headquarters at the Roe Cross Inn.
The Luddite disturbances began in November 1811 The social unrest did not curb the growth of Stalybridge.
In 1833 the Commissioners set up the 'Stalybridge Police Force', which was the first of its kind in the country.
By this year the population of the town had reached 14,216 with 2.357 inhabited houses.
Also bearing testament to the presence of man in prehistory are the Stalybridge cairns.
The two monuments are situated on the summit of Hollingworthall Moor, 140 metres (460 ft) apart.
As Stayley expanded in the 18th century, it reached the banks of the River Tame.
Upon his death, the Earldom of Warrington became extinct.
By the mid-18th century Stalybridge had a population of just 140.
Farming and woollen spinning were the main means subsistence at this time.
The first records of the de Stavelegh family as Lords of the Manor date from the early 13th century. The present hall was built in the late 16th century on the same site as an earlier hall of the Stayley family, dating from before 1343.
Sir Ralph Staley had no male heirs and after his death his daughter, Elizabeth Staley, married Sir Thomas Assheton, uniting the manors of Ashton and Staley.
She continued to live at Staley Hall until her death in 1553.